top of page

WHAT DOES MY FUTURE LOOK LIKE AFTER ST DAVID'S?

On 20th September, our UCAS Manager hosted an evening dedicated to future options and vocations for upper sixth students.

Here are five things that I learned:

1. St David's recognises that that there is no 'one size fits all' path to a career and students can progress on to a number of routes including degrees, employment, training, travel, volunteering, or further study at another institution.

2. There is more than one type of degree. You can do single honours, joint honours, sandwich courses (which aren't as delicious as they sound), or sponsored degree courses.

​3. There is so much support available to students who are deciding what to do next:

  • UniFrog

  • Access to a Progression Mentor

  • Careers events

  • Learner Coaches

  • Careers Wales representative

  • Resources in the Parent Area of the College website

  • Help organising work experience

​4. There are also lots of resources for parents and guardians:

  • Dedicated section of the College website

  • UCAS Handbook

  • UCAS tariff point explanation

  • How to get the most out our open days information

  • Admissions test information

  • Student Finance advice

  • Careers Wales advice

  • Key dates for UCAS

5. It's ok if I don't know what I want to do yet. The best thing I can do is to take on all the advice I can, speak to as many people I can, and visit as many open days as I can. Writing a personal statement will help me to focus on my skills and accomplishments, as well as my career aspirations, and will be useful whether I am applying to university, for an apprenticeship, or for a job.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page