top of page

ST DAVID'S STUDENT WINS BASKETBALL SCHOLARSHIP TO PRESTIGIOUS AMERICAN UNIVERSITY

Emily Stradling

St David’s Catholic College student, Emily Stradling, is celebrating her recently awarded full scholarship at the renowned Mercer University in Georgia.

After a busy summer playing for Great Britain’s under-18 women’s basketball team, Emily was invited to visit Mercer University where she received a full scholarship to play division 1 college basketball in 2018.

Emily is now set to move to America next year when she completes her A Level qualifications with St David’s Catholic College.

“Being offered a scholarship is such an amazing feeling and one I feel very privileged to have,” said Emily.

“Basketball has long been a sport close to my heart but my parents have always emphasised the importance of gaining a great education as well.

“Playing basketball has definitely been of huge advantage to me at this time when people my age are looking to apply to university because it has added yet another string to my bow.

“A full scholarship anywhere would have been unbelievable but simultaneously being able to carry on growing as a player in the sport I love is simply something else.”

“My aims for the future are not set in stone however, I do want to capitalise on the opportunity I have to excel in basketball and see how far it can take me.”

Emily has a strong academic profile too and is currently on the St David’s Honours Programme which is comprised of the College’s top 10% of academically-achieving students.

Emily is currently undertaking three A Levels and the Welsh Baccalaureate alongside six to seven days of training per week.

Emily continued: “Aside from basketball, I am hoping to major in biomedical engineering.

“During the past two years at St David’s, I have studied Maths, Product Design and Biology and I believe that this course brings them together perfectly.

“I would love to positively impact the lives of others in need and it is my aim to one day invent something that completely changes the quality of life of disabled people.”

St David’s College principal, Mark Leighfield, said: “We’re very proud of Emily and all that she has achieved both academically and through basketball.

“She is an exceptional student and she very much deserves this scholarship which will be an exciting next step for her when she leaves College next year.

“As a College, we pride ourselves on providing our students with as much support as possible, helping to nurture individual talents and helping them achieve the best outcomes for their learning paths and future.

“Seeing these results become a reality for students like Emily is incredibly rewarding.”

Based in Penylan, St David’s is the only Roman Catholic sixth-form college operating in Wales, and helps to nurture success through supportive and stimulating learning.

Photo credit: Matt Smith and Lloyd James.

Tags:

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page