top of page

HOW COLLEGE SUPPORTED ME ALL THE WAY TO OXFORD

In September 2017, Bethan James began her English Language and Literature degree at Oxford University. She talked to us about how the support she received during her time at St David's helped her get there.

"The support I received from Mr Grindulis was fantastic as he gave me two mock interviews with unseen texts which emulated the style of interview I encountered at Oxford.

I am also grateful to Ms Brookes for sitting in on one of these interviews as she was able to probe me further, given her knowledge of the subject I am studying.

I think it is really important for all Oxbridge candidates to be given mock interviews like these as they are unlike anything most students would have encountered before and really encourage discussion and lateral thinking.

It was also very reassuring to speak to current students like Meg, who came to visit as she was very encouraging that we were the sort of students who were worthy of Oxbridge. Thank you to everyone at college who has supported me during my two years there."

St David's College supports students who wish to apply for the top flight 'Russell Group' universities through mock interviews, university visits, lectures from visiting speakers, and much more. Students who achieve the top grades at GCSE will be invited to apply for the Honours Programme, further details of which can be found on our website.

Please also see our guidance on applying to university.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page