top of page

MANAGING THE TRANSITION FROM WELSH TO ENGLISH-MEDIUM EDUCATION

When I left my Welsh-medium High School to attend St David’s, I was worried that I’d miss being able to speak Welsh since all lessons would be conducted in English.

This was especially true as I come from a non-Welsh speaking family, and my brother could no longer speak Welsh with confidence, I spent a lot of time worrying and considering my decision.

"The College has been fantastic in its support of students coming from Welsh schools."

But, the College has been fantastic in its support of students coming from Welsh schools: I was given terminology booklets for all of my subjects, and through one to one sessions, and being able to have Welsh Baccalaureate and tutor lessons in Welsh was an added bonus.

The College also offers the opportunity to submit work through the medium of Welsh, which meant I can work independently to improve my written work in Welsh. Miss Davies in particular is always there to offer any support and to help with any problems I may have.

"My favourite thing about being a student in St David’s is the opportunities on offer."

My favourite thing about being a student in St David’s is the opportunities on offer, like the chance to be a vice-captain for the house dedicated to the culture and language of Wales and to take part in activities like Diwrnod Shwmae and many more.

I would recommend St David’s to any student who is leaving, or thinking of leaving a Welsh medium high school.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page